Losing Your Way Could be the Best Way

Even though it’s viewed as one of Pixar’s lesser films, Cars was one of my favorites for quite a while (besides the fact that it came out the year Sarabeth and I met). Yes, it takes some time to warm up to talking cars, but I feel like the theme of this film just goes so much deeper than what meets the eye. Whenever I watch it, I’m reminded to stop and look back at all the detours my life has made.

Cars is the simple story of a race car who’s on his way to the top, but an accident lands him in a small hick-town in the middle of nowhere (somewhere off Route 66). There, he finds a life much better than he could have dreamed of, that surpasses the temporary glory of fame and fortune.

Maybe you’ve been there before. At the top of your game. Soaring the skies as you survey the world below with the wind at your back. Then it all comes crashing down. Maybe it’s a miscarriage. Or a business deal gone sour, or a tough break-up. Something out of the blue snatches us from out of nowhere, shakes us until we lose what is most valuable and then we’re left with nothing, like a victim of a mugging. And who’s the culprit? Sometimes we’ll blame it on the devil. But most of the time we’ll blame it on God.

But we won’t ever see God shirking the blame. Why? Because He’s too busy coordinating the good that will come out of your misfortune.

He’s preparing the heart of that lost soul who will be attending your best friend’s Christian funeral.

He’s about to teach you to rely on Him for your finances.

Even while you’re mourning the loss of an early life, the Holy Spirit may be convicting a young lady somewhere not to abort her child so that he will end up in your arms.

It’s hard sometimes, but we must learn to look outside of ourselves when bad things happen and consider the possible ways God is up to something good. Even if all we get is burned in the end, isn’t it worth it that others come to Christ because of it? Or at the very least, that you are drawn closer to Him? And you must remember – as long as you are a follower of Christ it is absolutely impossible to lose in the end because you’re building your reward in Heaven as you patiently endure the cross and shoulder your burdens (which you ought to be giving to God).

Or maybe you’re not a believer. God has people go through all sorts of trials and calmamities in order to draw them to Himself. If your life is falling apart around you, and you feel you have nothing to cling to, reach out for the One who is stretching His hand out to you and take hold. It could be that the Spirit is beckoning you to finally place your faith and trust in Him. And, my friend, there is no better way to lose yourself than to trust in Jesus Christ as Lord of your life.

“He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.” Matthew 10:39

Consider these lyrics to the song featured in Cars by Brad Paisley:

When you find yourself
In some far off place
And it causes you to rethink some things
You start to sense that slowly
You’re becoming someone else
And then you find yourself

When you make new friends in a brand new town
And you start to think about settlin’ down
The things that would have been lost on you
Are now clear as a bell
And you find yourself
Yeah that’s when you find yourself

Where you go through life
So sure of where you’re headin’
And you wind up lost and it’s
The best thing that could have happened
‘Cause sometimes when you lose your way it’s really just as well
Because you find yourself
Yeah that’s when you find yourself

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

13 Responses to Losing Your Way Could be the Best Way

  1. irishsignora says:

    We have all the Cars storybooks, and the kids love them. I really am going to have to expand our video library, or at least our Netflix queue ;) Peace be with you! Kelly

  2. terry1954 says:

    i have never seen this movie, although my young grandchildren love the toys that represent the movie

  3. I love Cars, my children love it, too. And that song by Brad Paisley happens to be a favorite of mine. The song talks a little about my journey following our Lord…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and following it. Yours looks interesting, will take a look around if you don’t mind! :-)

    May God bless you .

    Best regards,
    Mary

  4. Monica says:

    Great post! Thank you for sharing your heart, encouraging the believer as well as the non-believer.

  5. Brook says:

    A very encouraging post! I haven’t seen the movie, but all the lessons and encouragements you apply, about losing oneself to find oneself like Jesus said in the Matthew verse you mentioned, are very timely and helpful…reminds of how God can turn bad into good (and accepts us while we “blame” Him sometimes) because God is good and loving and glorious. *Thank you* for this post. (I like the Brad Paisley lyrics about finding yourself, too.)

  6. Lynne says:

    Thank you – I needed some encouragement today :-)

  7. Seriously, thank you. I needed to read this today.

  8. justturnright says:

    Excellent post.
    Next time I watch this with my two sons, I’ll be paying waaaay more attention!

    Many thanks.

  9. wongawong says:

    Great article. Very, very nice. I enjoyed it right through to the last prayer.

  10. wongawong says:

    Reblogged this on wongawong and commented:
    Great article. Very, very nice. I enjoyed it right through to the last prayer.

  11. darrenschalk says:

    Loved the post. Great writing!

  12. Beth says:

    I finally had a moment to stop by and read your blog. This one cuaght my eye becasue 1. I love Disney, 2. Cars was an amazing movie, and 3. I thought it would be a good one to read. It really opened my eyes to a lot of things. You say we like to blame God for the bad things that happen in our life and I am very guilty of that. I just wrote a blog as a matter of fact saying just that. It is God’s fault and I can’t handle what he is handing me right now. Back story to this, I just had my second miscarriage in 8 months and I am in a place of anger, sadness, and pure hatred right now. I was a church goer many years ago and have sense changed my veiws on religion. I am not sure what I believe and I am not sure what to believe. I would like to thank you for this specific blog post because it has given me a little to think on and why I stopeed going to church in the first place. Thank you and I hope God continues to use you as a tool for Him and to keep spreading the word. I will not be making any decisions just yet on the religion front, but you have given me a lot to consider. I will be reading your posts more often!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,554 other followers

