3 Words, 7 Letters, One Cosmic Offense

There is a phrase that you might use today, just like every other day, that is the most deplorable phrase in God’s ears. Your friends might go along with it, your family members might not notice it, and your pastors might not call you out on it, yet it’s the most vile exclamation that can come out of your mouth. It might as well be vomit. We are so used to the stench of this phrase, that even though we are covered up with it every day, we go about our lives hardly noticing it. Using this phrase is the same as urinating on the cross of Jesus, and spitting on the face of God. While the children of God are going to church, tithing, and praying for the lost, they are defecating in God’s holy temple by saying these three disgusting words.

You don’t have to read very far in the Bible before getting to it. It’s found on page 62 in my Bible.

“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not leave him unpunished who takes His name in vain” (Exodus 20:7).

Brothers and sisters, we are to be set apart from the world, even if it means refraining from “cute” little phrases we acronymically type into our phones and ipads as friendly texts. When I hear someone confess to be a Christian and then defile the Lord’s name, I automatically can’t help but question their salvation. After all, if they can’t refrain from using such a simple seven letter term in their best moments, then what other sins are they giving into in their worst moments?

We must treat the name of God as reverent and holy. The very thought of Him ought to bring us to our knees in awe, not curse in jest. I know Christians who have been pulled aside by non-believers and asked abut their faith because they noticed that they didn’t curse. Refrain from taking the Lord’s name in vain, not only because it restores His value in your heart, but because it can be a chance to witness to others! If God means so little to you that you’re willing to just throw His name around like a deflated beach ball – which lacks value of any kind – ask the Lord to change your heart toward something you have viewed as being so trivial and inconsequential. Ask Him to help you realize that the world has influenced you for the worse, and that using His name in vain is offensive to Him. He will forgive you, if you are His child and you ask Him to, and He will never remember it if you repent of it. That is an absolute promise. But if you want to go around continuing to use the Lord’s name as a curse word, just remember the next time you yell, “Jesus Christ,” out of pain or anger, you will someday finish that sentence with “…is Lord,” and He will reconcile His namesake. That is another promise.

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

23 Responses to 3 Words, 7 Letters, One Cosmic Offense

  1. Oh dear. I don’t know what to say. Well, I see what you wanted to achieve with the image there, but it upsets me so, I can hardly read the text.

    But stepping away from that, I HEARTILY AGREE. I cringe every time our Beloved’s name gets abused like this. Thanks for speaking up on it! By this time my response when I hear someone do this, is automatic: Holy, holy, holy is Your name!

    May we continue to spread His light in this broken world. May we continue to make the world aware of His IMMENSE love. Every knee WILL bow and every tongue WILL confess: He is Lord!

    • runnymeadeuk says:

      I agree with you. The picture is totally revolting and distracts from the text (which I agree with).

    • Don’t want to distract from the text. I changed the picture. I was wondering about it, but decided to take a shot. Shock factor isn’t worth it if people are going to turn away. Thanks for the comments, Pippa and Runnymeadeuk.

  2. terry1954 says:

    it isi sad that some use foul language as commonly as they say their name. i hate it! it sounds bad, it is disrespectul

  3. swimtalks says:

    If you are like us, we don’t want to preach to the choir and sometimes it takes a shock to bring people awake. Well done!

  4. Jim Cantwell says:

    Excellent post, I will admit to using the Lords name in vain when I was lost , I have since stopped and asked for his forgiveness, and I truly believe I have been granted his forgiveness

  5. Rebekah L. says:

    I want to like this post about twenty times!

  6. sheila965 says:

    The picture you had may have been a little revolting BUT you got your point across with an image that will be a reminder anytime that phrase is uttered. We are so culturally ingrained with that phrase, it is something that only God Himself can remove from our vocabulary. Excellent post and a vivid reminder of why we should watch our tongue.

  7. So true these days. People using Jesus precious name in curses or sayin “O my …….” and the list could go on and on. They dont’ realiza that one day they will be using that name to call on to be saved but then it will be to late.

  8. Now I really want to see the original image to see why everyone had a bee in their bonnet!

    • It was a picture of someone hurling in a sink. Pretty gross, and I’m glad people got the idea behind the revolting imagery. It should have been prefaced with a disclaimer.

  9. Tim A. says:

    I agree the picture is revolting; yet so are the words; so which is worse? We should be more revolted by the words, than the puking which is a natural reaction to a physical problem,etc.
    Thanks for the posts. Much food for thought.
    T.A.

  10. Becky Doughty says:

    4 letters, all caps. AMEN!

  11. prayersgofar says:

    This is the very reason I have thought about carrying small pocket dictionaries, so that when people decide to show their lack of vocabulary then I can give them a dictionary, along with a positive influence. The ones that partake in the language can really use some prayers.

  12. I even cringe when I hear the recipients of a cool house makover saying OM_ OM_, I have pointed it out as being a pet peeve of mine, and many say they did not even notice it, we have become so desensitized, Silly, but I think of my kids saying Mom,Mom, Mom Mom Mom, and how iritated I get with that, and telling them they will wear my name out and I will quit answering ;)

  13. mgsong says:

    This is a reminder of what Jesus said of those of us [His own] who forget our first love and become luke warm…’HE will vomit them out of HIS mouth.’ So we had better watch our P’s & Q’s concerning how we refer to our precious Lord and Savior Who gave His life for us. If that graphic picture which is very disturbing…can you imagine the Savior, King and God of All earth and creation and Heaven doing that to us at the end? Yikes!

  14. Well, I have to say that some of us are human, and we sin. We know what our downfalls are. We try to address that which is offensive to God, but we don’t always manage. Those without sin cast the first stone…

  15. you solved a riddle. i used to think why mothers admonished their kids in movies when they screamed jesus christ/oh god etc in anger/pain/frustration.

    thanks.

  16. thanks for sharing…..this is a good reminder to us all….when I was a child my mother would not even allow us to say Gosh or Golly as she said it was slur on God’s name, nor could we say Gee or Gee Whiz as it was another way to blaspheme Jesus…..Although she may have been pushing the envelope with those connections, it got my attention and still does to this day.

  17. Wow! So nice to see someone who stands strong and desires to rightly divide the word of truth rather than just lightly applying it as if it’s a sprinkle on the top of life instead of the stuff of life itself. I remember asking someone about her constant use of it, and she suggested I just consider the “G” as meaning “goodness” to which my husband said, “There is none good but God.” It also made me think of a response I once heard a preacher make to the “my goodness” thing. He said, “…is as filthy rags.” Funny but true.

    I’ve also suggested that people use LMBO when they insist on more than LOL (which I even have trouble using if I didn’t actually laugh out loud), and most said they haven’t even thought of what the letter “A” stood for when they used the alternative. Of course, that not thinking of the real meaning behind things is how we’ve ended up with many forms of paganism and anti-Semitism within modern “church” practice. Thanks for taking time to point out at least one of these issues. I’m glad I’m following here.

  18. Aah… dont lose too much sleep over this or put too much anger and annoyance to your lives over people’s semantics. Slang will always misuse words. Usually because there is not an equilivant that has been worked into their lexicons. I suppose you could look at it as a success. You put your god’s name into everyones mouths on a regular basis. Id say that you got your pr covered!

    *note please do not beat me up too bad. I am just trying to look at it from another perspective to try and see it thats all… I like to try and see my cup as half full… so sue me! ;)

  19. Thanks for this. I sent it to my mom. I hope it makes her think and stop saying it. I have been telling her for a long time to stop.

  20. Pingback: Warnings From the Future Dead | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,183 other followers

